Look for the silver lining

(Why does that remind me of “look for the union label..”?) 

When there are no clouds there is absolutely positively no chance for a silver lining. Ever think about that?  What appears to be a “bad” day in which a storm cloud seems to have ensconced itself over the top of my head can be actually a silver lining waiting to be revealed.

A cancelled appointment turns into a picnic in the park (albeit if it’s not indeed raining); a flat tire turns into an opportunity to reconnect with that mechanic friend you’ve meant to contact; a case of the sniffles turns into a great excuse to take a day off… what is the latest silver lining you’ve discovered?  I’d love to hear about them. No stories are too simple or far-fetched.

Can’t think of one?  I’ll get you started. Think of that one situation in your life now that, if different, would make your life so much better, easier, or more fulfilling.  Yes that one.  Step back for a moment and regard it again.  Slowly but surely the silver lining will manifest itself.  I dare you to give this an honest try and tell me that it didn’t work.  I double dog dare you.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look for the silver lining

  1. kan5678 says:

    Ah! There was a connection… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Look_for_the_Silver_Lining

    Recent silver lining for me you ask? Being “between teaching contracts” has afforded me the luxury of starting this blog… now come on folks… I triple dog dare you!!

    Or, absent that, how about some feedback on the blog so far?

  2. Bob Trost says:

    The whole silver lining effect to facebook. I started using FB as a way to be in contact with “fellow Motorcycle Enthuisasts” and relatives, and have re-connected with so many from my days a FHS and with the author-ess as well (whom I have know since I was 15 but had lost contact with). Prior to 1995, I didn’t know how to look for many of these, but thankfully, I’ve been blessed to stumble across them frequently!

Leave a Reply

