A Farewell to Facebook?

Yesterday one of my friends on Facebook deleted her page.  Just like that.  With not so much as a kiss my foot or have an apple.  I sent her a text last night inquiring about her state of ok-ness and she assured me she was more than fine and was, in fact, relieved to shake free of this drain on her time and energy.

Huh.  I emailed her today to once again ascertain that she had not succumbed to pressure from overly zealous highers up at the office and wasn’t complete deletion rather extreme?  No, she reiterated, like she said, time and energy, liberating, yadda yadda yadda. Huh.

Could this be a trend?  What you must understand is that this friend was no ordinary Facebook user.  She was queen of the quips, diva of the dish, pervader of the pithy.  Her status and profile picture updates were mythical among her circle and she was a constant clever commenter, cheerleader, sympathizer, and “liker” of her friend’s posts.  Apparently having determined that she had gleaned enough reconnections and new friends from the community, she will continue to contact the lucky few (like myself) who have migrated to more direct communication with her through email and phone calls.

Facebook, take notice.  There is an eventual stopping point, even for your most enthusiastic of supporters.  What’s next?  We may even *gasp* resort to gathering with friends in person and use those times to socially network.  It.  Could. Work!!!!

But not to worry.  There will always be FarmVille.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Inbetween, Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Farewell to Facebook?

  1. jan says:

    Very clever, grasshopper! For the sake of accuracy; I posted that I was deactivating my account and those who get email notifications got that; and it IS simply a matter of time and energy, not that I “determined I gleaned enough connections and reconnections.” Now. Everyone: Go phone a friend today! There is life outside of Facebook, I promise!

  2. Bob Trost says:

    Karen, hopefully you’ll pass on to Jan how much we’ll miss her and how much fun it was being part of her wacky world. The time and energy spent on FB must be metered by the user. While I will miss her on FB, I hope not to lose the connection with her as a friend.

  3. kan5678 says:

    Couldn’t have said it better myself. I mean really. If I had a staff of emmy award winning writers. Maybe.

    http://www.colbertnation.com/the-colbert-report-videos/351570/august-24-2010/the-word—control-self-delete

Leave a Reply

