Time Out.

 So there I was busy with my own minding when my two and a half-year old granddaughter takes me by the hand and leads me over to the wall and tells me to “sit! Yew in ti-out!”  I complied of course with the appropriately pouty lips.  She twirled around and, waving a pudgy finger in my face, told me to “be quie”.

Stifling a laugh, I told her I was sorry and was eventually released only to be returned to it after I had resumed sitting in the wing chair.  It was soon apparent that possession of said seat was my crime, the climbing upon which was what soon led her to be the time outee instead of the time outer.  Her ensuing cries of sheer agony resulted in an early parole.

How intuitive of this little one to discern that time out is a method to control the behavior of others in order to achieve our own agendas…

“Children are the living messages we send to a time we will not see.” ~ John Whitehead

“If we are to teach real peace in this world, and if we are to carry on a real war against war, we shall have to begin with the children.” ~ Gandhi

“The energy which makes a child hard to manage is the energy which afterwards makes him [or her] a manager of life.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Out.

  1. Bob Trost says:

    Karen, what a wonderful post and the accompanying quotes are wonderful. As I read them, CSN&Y’s Teach Your Children Well started in my head. I love how she taught you as well

Leave a Reply

