All mojo all the time

“I’ve lost my mojo” is an expression, not invented by Austin Powers by the way, indicating that one has lost a certain something that sets one apart from the rest.  What does mojo have to do with it? A great deal it turns out. 

Mojo, according to dictionary.com* is “the art or practice of casting magic spells; magic; voodoo” or “an object, as an amulet or charm, that is believed to carry a magic spell.”  Origins have been attributed to West Africa of the 1920’s.  Or, if you prefer, mojo is also a Cuban seasoned marinade or sauce originating from the Spanish verb mojar “to make wet”.  In any case, it refers to “an uncanny personal power or influence” similar to the “x” factor.

So to say I’ve lost my mojo, implies that I believe I once had it.  Thing is, whether I believe I’m on top of my game or that I don’t even know what the game is, I’m right.  What I’ve been reading and hearing lately about brain research is that four-fifths of my brain will simply receive as being true whatever I tell it.  Now that’s magic and an incredible source of power!

So just like that I’ve found my mojo.  Why? Because I said so. 

*”mojo.” Dictionary.com Unabridged. Random House, Inc. 31 Aug. 2010. <Dictionary.com http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/mojo>.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Inbetween and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All mojo all the time

  1. Bob Trost says:

    Great reasoning. I also remember Jim Morrison singing about “Mr. Mojo Rising”. For years I let my mind wander and figured Mr. Mojo was about ah, ahem, “virility”. Then one day, while watching a documentary on Rock and Roll did I learn that Mr. Mojo Rising was an anagram for Jim Morrison! So, I guess I too, finally found my Mojo

Leave a Reply

