Julie. Julia. Me.

Mastering the Art of French Cooking, original ...

Image via Wikipedia

 

I finally watched the film, Julie & Julia, last night thanks to instant view from Netflix.  Although it did not stir up the remotest of desires to learn French cooking, it did strike close to home in that it involved a blogger, Julie Powell, who, as a result of her blog about cooking through Julia Child’s cookbook (depicted here), became a published author.  She combined her passion for cooking with her passion for writing and voila!  Tres magnifique!  

Julia Child was a woman of a certain age who searched for something to do while her husband served a four-year tour at the American embassy in Paris, and the rest is histoire.  What these women have in common is that they not only learned to cook, but that they published books.  Therein lies my fascination teetering precariously on the one hand and frustration firmly clasped white-knuckled in the other.  

First of all, other than writing, and sunrises, and the ocean, and dancing, and spirituality, I don’t know what makes me happy!  (Help me out and answer the poll at the bottom of this entry!!  It’s a test poll just for fun — oh yeah, I love to laugh and have fun!)  

Secondly, from the film’s portrayal of each of these women’s personal lives, they both had a supportive, articulate, courageous spouse who provided feedback, a listening heart, and strong shoulders upon which Julie and Julia launched into the world.  Nobody here but me and my toy poodle and he’s ten pounds of “what’s for dinner?”  “Can I go out?  I can?  Really?  Oh boy!!!”  “What’s that?  I heard something.  Did you hear something?  There’s definitely something out there and I have to let you know because that’s my job!!!!” 

So I’m putting it out there to the universe.  What to write about?  What, dear reader, would you like me to write about?  Is there some way to focus this blog that would require a deadline?  How do I master the art of American blogging? Just keep plugging along with random dawenings and see where they take me?  One sunrise at a time? 

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Julie. Julia. Me.

  1. Bob Trost says:

    While I appreciate the movies portrayal of “supportive” spouses, I suspect reality was somewhat different. I like your thinking, and think you should write about what you wonder about, what you feel about and what you care about. Other than that, I have no suggestions……

Leave a Reply

