A Year of The Tao – Day One

   

In remembrance... twin shadows...

I bought the wrong book.  Oh I meant to buy a book by Dr. Wayne W. Dyer in which he shares his insights on the the Tao Te Ching, however, what I brought home was a lovely full color one-year devotional style volume in which Dr. Dyer explains he has “broken down the translated verses that appear in full in my book Change Your Thoughts–Change Your Life[the book I meant to get] into bite-size pieces–and edited and rearranged them as needed for sense and clarity–so that you can slowly absorb these powerful thoughts and imprint them into your consciousness.”  

Well I’ve already learned something by writing this–I hadn’t noticed that he had rearranged the verses until I copied the above quote from  A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being — the book I am now convinced the universe made sure was placed in my hands.  No wonder the day one passage seemed only to remotely have anything to do with verse one in the other two translations (one book, one iPhone app), of Tao Te Ching that I have in my possession.  

So for the next 365 days I will read/memorize/meditate upon the above created verse of the day and write about it.  I’ve changed my address, my marital status, and my employment, might as well change my way of thinking and being while I’m at it.  

Today’s quote:  

“The Tao is both named and nameless.  As nameless it is the origin of all things;  as named it is the Mother of 10,000 things.”  

My first response to this quote is that once the Tao is named, or defined, it becomes limited but only slightly less so.  After all, 10,000 things is nothing to sneeze at unless it’s 10,000 grains of pollen.   

Upon further reflection, as nameless, or unknown, the Tao is everywhere, everything, all encompassing, omnipresent, creator, in all, above all, below all, around all, through all, all in all.  Attempts, even like this one, to delineate the Tao, reduce it to “only” being the creator of what we can see, touch, taste, feel, smell, or even know.  So. I’m simply asked to focus my attention on knowing the unknowable…   

Maybe learning French cooking isn’t such a bad idea after all.  

 

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in A Year of the Tao and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Year of The Tao – Day One

  1. jan says:

    Nice writing Karen!

  2. Debbie says:

    Karen, this is the first I’ve read of your posts. Not because I didn’t want to but because I’ve had too much going on. And I can see you can very much relate to what I am saying. I am enjoying your insight. Keep going, or ‘gambatte’ as it is said in Japan. I very much understand the Tao, the place of formlessness, where all form comes from. It is late and all I can say to you is Gambatte! I will continue to enjoy reading what you have to say.

  3. Bob Trost says:

    This is all too complicated for me….. I stopped at the Tao of Poo (bear, not scat). I like to wonder at life and nature, but mostly how I connect with it throught my heart and my senses………

Leave a Reply

