A Year of the Tao – Day Five

“Being and nonbeing produce each other.  The difficult is born in the easy. Long is defined by short, the high by the low. Before and after go along with each other.”  (From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being)   

It is what it isn’t.  It isn’t what it is. Life generates death.  Death generates life.

The complicated comes out of the uncomplicated.  Two cells united to create me.

Many small distances make up a long one; a mountain is delineated by the valleys that surround it.

What I bring to this day goes along with what I take from it.

Less is more.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Year of the Tao – Day Five

  1. Bob Trost says:

    Way, way too deep for me! I’ll just stick with the lyrics of “The Circle of Life” from the Lion King. More than that will make my head hurt!

    • kan5678 says:

      Yeah this was a tough one!! Hang in there… love the the Circle of Life reference… I danced to that song a few years back with Melissa and Robbie… talk about the circle of life! Thanks for the memory.

  2. Jan says:

    Less IS more! I got to the end and went…”oh!” I am probably a simpler person than you…I’m not “shallow” but I lack depth (as in deep philosophical thinking)! LOL! Nice writing, as always.

  3. Betsy Lewis says:

    “Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours”
    Swedish Proverb

Leave a Reply

