A Year of the Tao – Day Seven

 
 

Be still and Know...

 

“When the work of the Tao is done, it is forgotten.  That is why it lasts forever.” 

(From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching

For the previous six days, I have been reading the next day’s verse as soon as I had posted my blog entry to think and meditate upon the new one before blogging on it the following morning.  Yesterday, much of the day had passed before I remembered to read the above passage.  Yet another paradox, I shook my head in resignation to bewilderment. 

Feeling a huge disconnect, both electronically and personally, I posted a Facebook status update to that effect.  Thanks to a pointed question from a caring friend, coupled with this process, other books I’m reading, and the loving support of others, the work of the Tao was done in me at twilight last night.  I was gently and lovingly shown “the Way.” 

Although I will not soon forget (hang in there short term memory!) sitting on the deck, feeling the rough-hewn wood of the Adirondack rocker on my palms, back, and legs, enjoying the cool breeze blowing wayward strands of my hair across my face, or hearing the cawing of the  crows that inexplicably gather by the dozens every evening on the rooftop of the house next door, I’ve already completely forgotten the before and during of that moment.  

When pierced by the light, the darkness is gone forever. I only have today–right now. As I walk in the right now it is eternity—one moment at a time.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Year of the Tao – Day Seven

  1. Betsy Lewis says:

    Letting go is so much easier said then done but it does allow you to breath deeply and embrace life. No directors, no scripts, no boundaries, no limits, just the freedom to live life passionately…SWEET!

  2. Bob Trost says:

    Has happened to me once or twice when I least expected it. I don’t remember the hows or whys, but to this day I can remember the totality of the feeling of complete balance, within and without. Hope to receive it again some time………….

Leave a Reply

