A Year of the Tao – Day Eight

“Putting a value on status creates contentiousness.” (From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

My immediate thought when I read today’s quote was the contention that is sometimes caused by Facebook status updates.  Somehow even as wise as he was, I don’t think that is what Lao-tzu had in mind when he penned this verse…

I also almost breezed by this one with the rather self-aggrandizing thought that status is of no particular value to me, so this concept had nothing new for me to ponder.  When I post my daily updates to my blog, do I not notice the featured blogs of the day and hope that mine will be there someday?  Is that not giving value to status?  When I was teaching, did I not get a certain satisfaction from the praise of twelve year-olds?  Did I not also wonder at the scrambling for attention and recognition and the ensuing contentiousness that I witnessed in those same ‘tweens?

Putting my energy into making myself “better” than others removes peace from my spirit and from the spirits of those with whom I live and deal.  I am here to love and live in harmony with God and others.  Anything I give value to that denies that Truth needs to drop from my hand like a pebble, rock, stone, or boulder to be engulfed by the forgiving, redeeming waves of the ocean.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Year of the Tao – Day Eight

  1. Bob Trost says:

    I sometimes think that the status is confused with the knowledge that we may of use to others through our journey. Looking for the positives is not necessarily the same as seeking approval

Leave a Reply

