A Year of the Tao – Day Ten

“Practice not doing… When action is pure and selfless, everything settles into its own perfect place.” From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

Yesterday I practiced not doing by not writing a blog entry.  As Dr. Phil would say, “how is that working for you?”  Very well, thanks for asking.  Instead, I took a four-hour round trip with my folks to visit my mother’s sister who is bedridden with Alzheimer’s and a series of strokes.  As much as I can muster at this time, this action was about as pure and selfless and I know how to be.

Much to my mother’s delight, Aunt Lottie was much more lucid this time than on previous visits.  It was a privilege to witness the love pass between these two sisters who have shared eight decades on this planet together. 

During a conversation at lunch (part of our mission is to take Uncle Jim out to give him a break from his 24/7 bedside vigil), my mother was reminiscing about her father’s accidental death while working at U.S. Steel and the resulting compensation that enabled my grandmother to move herself and her three daughters to Arlington Virginia.  Mom remarked, “It was the best thing that could have happened.”  Uncle Jim lit up and said, “Well, it’s the best thing that ever happened to ME!”

As I was saying goodbye to Aunt Lottie, I told her not to give Jim too much trouble and that I’ve never seen a man who loved a woman more than he loves her.  I pray that Truth will settle into its own perfect place.

Related Links:

For more information on the fight against Alzheimer’s go to : http://www.alz.org

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Year of the Tao – Day Ten

  1. Bob Trost says:

    What a wonderful story to share. I can remember your Mom not doing many times as she sat with Laverne before her passing.

  2. Jan says:

    Beautiful love story.

  3. Betsy Lewis says:

    Precious encounters remind us how rich life is when we are present and focused on the moment. What a lovely share.

Leave a Reply

