A Year of the Tao – Day Eleven

“The Tao is empty but inexhaustible, bottomless, the ancestor of all.” From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

Empty yet endless; inexhaustible and bottomless; ancestor, originator, relative, of all; not some, not many—all.  Major déjà vu here… did I write this already?  Writing yet not written, thought but not perceived with the mind… finished but not begun…neverending…

As I view the reruns of the Gilmore Girls over and over again, I’m noticing how the writers radically changed the back story of the characters as the series progressed.  For instance, Kirk, who is the town’s jack-of-all-trades, confronts Miss Patty, the town gossip and dance school teacher, in the grocery store where she was sampling some of the fresh vegetables.  Later he apologizes, not knowing she was “THE Miss Patty.”  By the end of the series, Kirk has been a student of Miss Patty’s since he was a small child.  More significantly, Luke, the irascible diner owner and lead love interest for Lorelei Gilmore, attends Rory’s (Lorelei’s daughter) 15th or 16th birthday party as if it were the first event he had participated in with them, but by the end of the 8th season, there is a scene in which they recount all the presents Luke has given to Rory for her birthday from the time she was a little girl.

So what does this have to do with today’s verse?  Probably nothing but then again the Tao encompasses everything so I’m taking poetic license here.  As I was reflecting upon the changes in story lines that viewers like me so easily accept, it occurred to me why can’t I just change my back story too?  According to Don Miguel Ruiz, author of The Four Agreements, we are each writer, director and actor in our own movies so we can change the plot AND the back stories for ourselves if we choose to do so.

Why keep telling myself the same story if it brings me heartache, angst, discouragement, bitterness, resentment, and anger?  Take those same stories and simply change the ending!  Or better yet, throw them out and start over!  What an amazing world this would be if we sought to focus on thoughts that bring love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, and self-control! What a wonderful world it would be!

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Year of the Tao – Day Eleven

  1. Bob Trost says:

    I don’t beleive I can change the backstory without having acheivd a new understanding of why the lines were written that way. But I can effect how the back story leads to the continuation of the plot by reviewing the backstory and making sure that I have a trueful continuity as the story moves forward.

Leave a Reply

