A Year of the Tao – Day Fifteen

“The sage is like heaven and earth: To him none are especially dear, nor is there anyone she disfavors.”  From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

I’m reminded of the Beijing Olympics opening ceremonies in which those of us who hold to the western ideal of individuality were shown the inescapable reality of our inter-connectedness and the power of the collective.

I suppose this detachment towards people is similar to my feelings towards the individual cells of my body.  Each is important but I certainly don’t prize one above the other—they are all dear to me but I don’t notice the intricacies of each one… nor could I.

According to the bible God, on the other hand, knows the number of hairs on my head.   God knows my rising and my falling, when I sit and when I stand, God’s eye is on the sparrow…

Jesus Christ instructed that the one who loses life will find it.  It is wise to care for those around me but rather than in a grasping, clinging, controlling manner, instead with open arms to embrace and release; open hands to give and relinquish; an open heart to love and let go.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Year of the Tao – Day Fifteen

  1. Betsy Lewis says:

    A dear friend recently reminded me that we can care for people but not take care of them. Empowering them rather than enabling them. A powerful message that I needed to hear.

  2. Bob Trost says:

    I have to say that I’m in complete agreement with you on this one. Good entry, great thoughts.

Leave a Reply

