A Year of the Tao – Day 20

Cover to The Giving Tree, depicting the tree g...

Image via Wikipedia

“Although the mysterious feminine assumes countless forms, her true identity remains intact.”  From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

Shel Silverstein’s The Giving Tree is surely an analogy of this truth (but don’t call him surely).  One of my favorite books for children, I looked for it in my bookcase only to discover that it is packed away with my teacher treasures—as it should be.

Like the mysterious feminine, the tree sacrificially gives her boy whatever he desires, yet always has what is needed as the boy travels through the seasons of life.  As she gives, she changes form, but her true identity remains intact; her only wish is that the boy would come and play. 

If you’ve never had the privilege of reading this book, get thee to a bookstore, buy it and read it to yourself then look for the first opportunity to read it to a child.  Repeat as necessary.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Year of the Tao – Day 20

  1. jan says:

    It IS a great book! Along the same lines, a favorite of my childhood was The Littlest Angel. Thanks for bringing it to mind!

  2. Betsy Lewis says:

    One of my favorites and a book that I continue to give to others young and old. 🙂

  3. Bob Trost says:

    I knew that when I mentioned this a few comments back that it would strike a chord. Glad you rediscoved it……… Does that make the Masculine version the “Giving Bank”?

Leave a Reply

