A Year of the Tao – Day 23

“Heaven is eternal—the earth endures.  Why do heaven and earth last forever?  They do not live for themselves only.  This is the secret of their durability.”  From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

I recently read an article about writing that Elizabeth Gilbert’s website.  In it she states, “When I was writing Eat, Pray, Love, I had just as a strong a mantra of THIS SUCKS ringing through my head as anyone does when they write anything. But I had a clarion moment of truth during the process of that book. One day, when I was agonizing over how utterly bad my writing felt, I realized: “That’s actually not my problem.” The point I realized was this – I never promised the universe that I would write brilliantly; I only promised the universe that I would write. So I put my head down and sweated through it, as per my vows.”

When she was very young, she made a vow to writing as a holy calling—and so it is.  Any gift that is revealed to each of us is to be reverenced as a precious treasure.  However, it is not given to be held closely to my heart but to be spread as far and wide as it can possibly go.

I remember hearing the story of the song, “Shout to the Lord.”  Darlene Zschech had written it but was embarrassed to share it with anyone because she thought it wasn’t very good.  That song went on to be one of the tunes that brought the worship ministry known as Hillsongs to the world.

Many of the entries I’ve written for this blog left my hands with the thought, “well, I tried…”  These are the ones that most often surprise me in the responses that are shared.  So I’ll keep writing.  It’s nobody’s fault that I was born to write, and the world doesn’t have to love it or even like what I have to say or how I say it.  I’m just putting it out there.  What happens next is none of my business.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Year of the Tao – Day 23

  1. Jan Miletich says:

    You have a wonderful gift (one of many)! Keep throwing it out there…you never know how far the ripples will go from the rock tossed in the pond….

  2. Betsy Lewis says:

    Every job is a self-portrait of the person who does it. Autograph your work with excellence. ~Author Unknown

  3. Bob Trost says:

    Quit making excuses and keep writing!

  4. Bertrand Russell~ Man needs for his happiness not merely the enjoyment of this or that but hope and enterprise and change.

Leave a Reply

