A Year of the Tao – Day 43

“The master observes the world but trusts [her] inner vision.”

(From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

I have lived alone for several months now but haven’t felt as lonely as I did this past week.  There were many contributing factors.  First of all, I learned that it would be another two weeks before I would begin my new job.  While finally getting an official offer was welcome news, I felt pressured to “make the most” of the free time I have left and suddenly had oodles of free space in my head now that the stress of wondering if I needed to initiate Plan B (finding a roommate, signing up as a substitute teacher, and auditioning to be a princess look-a-like in the Disney parade) had been relieved.  Secondly, I spent the previous weekend with my second cousin and his wife.  Although I enjoyed myself immensely I was grateful to return to my own place.  Nevertheless spending time with family, however distantly related, served as a stark reminder of how little meaningful (and non-technological) human contact I’ve had during the past four weeks. 

Ultimately, however, I had subtly started to entertain thoughts of entitlement to certain benefits such as obtaining a reasonable answer to a reasonable question or a dear friend’s schedule opening up to help me fill my empty one. Such a self-centered, fearful focus on my own desires leads to a lonely existence indeed.  Thankfully, I was reminded that rather than being entitled I have been entrusted with infinite riches and that I had felt disconnected from creation because I had forgotten that I am constantly connected to the Creator.

The Master has learned how to observe the world and all that it contains without forgetting to trust the invisible wisdom that resides within each of us.  This inner “knowing” constantly whispers to anyone who listens, “You are not alone.”  How could I ever feel lonely when I remember that am eternally connected to the Creator of the universe who lovingly and lavishly shares it all with me?

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Year of the Tao – Day 43

  1. Bob Trost says:

    Sorry to get to this one so late. During the period of my separation and divorce I was forced to live alone for the first time in my life (quite a shock at age 43!) Thankfully I was participating in group Pastoral Couseling and could try to work through many, many issues. The counselor told me that he would work with me on how to “be alone, without being lonely”. It is the “lonely soul” that is often the soul that is the most “lost” and destructive.

Leave a Reply

