A Year of the Tao – Day 45

“The reason we have a lot of trouble is that we have selves.  If we had no selves, what trouble would we have?”

(From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

Short answer:  why none of course.

The long answer would fill more books that we have space to contain, nay, without selves there would be no books on the shelves (or in cyberspace or on Kindles… you get the idea…).

Without selves what would be the point?  Ah, there’s the rub.  Methinks Master Lao Tzu may be referring to that dastardly (cleverly rhyming with another, more pointed, epithet) facet of the human psyche that cleverly disguises itself as “me” when, in my humble opinion, nothing could be further (or is it farther?  Potato/potato) from the truth.  And that error in my awareness has been the source of all the troubles in my life and is why I so often bemoan the fact that I am indeed my own worst enemy. 

The thing is that I’ve recently become aware that wherever my feet are I tend to be there too  and, slightly more significantly, that I am a spiritual being having a human experience rather than a human being having the occasional spiritual experience

Hahahahahahahahaha… do I honestly think I could possibly give a reasonable exegesis of this concept in 250 words scribbled in between work assignments?  Bottom line for me is that I am learning, slowly, to ignore my ego-driven “self” and to focus on my still small voiced True Self.  And that, dear reader, has made all the difference.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Year of the Tao – Day 45

  1. Bob Trost says:

    I like this one a lot. I know this because I have no short reply to the post and find I must give this some deep thought. This one is very deep, and very, very rich. Thanks

Leave a Reply

