A Year of the Tao – Day 46

“Man’s true self is eternal, yet he thinks ‘I am this body and will soon die.’ If we have no body, what calamities can we have?”

(From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

 Short answer:  I wouldn’t know – I haven’t had a man’s body in almost a year… but I digress…

In Real Magic, Wayne Dyer uses the analogy of a demure young lady who is all alone in a runaway stagecoach.   As I recall, the coach represents the body, the runaway horses represent the emotions, the oblivious driver represents the mind, and the rider jostling around in the coach is the True Self who has been relegated to just going along for the ride.

When I first read this analogy I came face to face with the inescapable realization that I have the choice to Indiana Jones (or in my case, Marion Ravenwood) my way to the driver’s seat, grab the reins and apply the brakes. (What?  If Charlie Sheen can be a verb…)

The calamity is that I’ve allowed the coach, driver, and horses free rein over the best part of who I was sent here to be and assumed, like a good little victim, that was just the way it is.  It’s time to be the leading lady of my own life (beg pardon for the mixed metaphor).  Saddle up those horses!  We’ve got a trail to blaze!

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Year of the Tao – Day 46

  1. Bob Trost says:

    Amazing how much in paralell our paths have been as we have ventured forth on our “next” journeys. I haven’t been in the driver’s seat all that long, and am still learning to drive, but at least I’m not in the coach and I have reins to control the horses.

  2. Betsy Lewis says:

    In response to you first answer… 🙂

    Let men tremble to win the hand of woman, unless they win along with it the utmost passion of her heart! Else it may be their miserable fortune, when some mightier touch than their own may have awakened all her sensibilities, to be reproached even for the calm content, the marble image of happiness, which they will have imposed upon her as the warm reality. ~Nathaniel Hawthorne, The Scarlet Letter

Leave a Reply

