A Year of the Tao – Day 51

“Open yourself to the Tao and trust your natural responses…then everything will fall into place.”

(From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

Let’s compare and contrast this verse with the one from the Bible it appears to closely resemble—Proverbs 3:5-6:

Trust in the LORD with all your heart
         And do not lean on your own understanding.
 In all your ways acknowledge Him,
         And He will make your paths straight.

The Tao indicates something eternal that is deep within, under, over, around and through each of us – the Bible points to God who is other, outside, yet omnipresent, omniscient, and omnipotent.  The Tao verse promises that when I am completely open to the Tao I can trust my own natural responses and all will be well.  In contrast, the Proverbs passage assures that when I trust in the Lord with all my heart rather than leaning on my own [limited] understanding, I allow God to work it all out.

Both passages imply that the Tao and God work within my own heart and mind and require openness to their truth.  If I am completely trusting on, agreeing with, and leaning on the Tao or on God all will be as it should be.  In either case, the concept is simple but never easy.

*Insert clever, concise, conclusion here.*

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

