A Year of the Tao – Day 57

“To return to the root is to find peace.  To find peace is to fulfill one’s destiny.”

(From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

Ever watch a sleeping baby?  I find them fascinating.  Such peace.  Such calm assurance that all is well – at least until the next time she wakes up with an empty belly and wet nappies.   Then there is no peace for anyone.

Rather than get into the reasons why we lose the ability to “sleep like a baby” and to experience life from the perspective of a child – fact is, we do –  let’s consider how to “return to the root.”

A baby exists at the very basic level of needs for food, clothing and shelter and has no qualms about honestly and directly expressing her needs.  Those who love and care for her don’t judge or criticize such expressions because she is, after all, just a helpless infant.

What if I let go of the illusion that I have to hide my needs from those around me?  What if I accepted, without judgment, the neediness of others?  What if “growing up” meant to live at purpose, which is to give everything I have to the benefit of the people who cross my path while trusting, as only an infant can, that my needs are met?  What. If.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

