A Year of the Tao – Day 59

“Being divine, you will be at one with the Tao. Being at one with the Tao is eternal.”

(From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

This is the time of year that Christ followers prepare for the Passion of the Christ (no, not just the viewing of the film, although that takes some preparation as well) – when Jesus of Nazareth surrendered Himself to death by crucifixion.  His crime?  Blasphemy.  He affirmed that “I and the Father (God) are one.” (John 10:30)  Although there were many political agendas motivating those who opposed him, by making that statement Christ left no choice, even to His supporters within the power structure of the day, but to punish Him for the crime of equating Himself with God – by claiming His divinity.

Christ also said, “I AM the Way, the Truth and the Life.  No one comes to [God] except through Me.” (John 14:6)   (Remember that the translation for the Tao is the Way.)  Hold on to your Easter bonnets, boys and girls, but is the Way that Jesus spoke of the same as the Tao?  Furthermore, is the message He brought first and foremost pointing to the Way He lived rather than the way He died?  (Even at Christmas, the emphasis is to remember that He was “born to die to set us free.”)  Is the Way to “come to God” by living the Life of the Truth that, like Jesus, I am divine? 

John, who was Jesus’ closest companion, also reports in 14:12 that Jesus promised, “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going…”  Is faith in Christ just about salvation from my sins or is it infinitely more?  Yes, forgiveness and acceptance are priceless, precious gifts which enable me to move beyond my mistakes and shortcomings to do all that I was created to do but!  Being at one with Jesus, the Tao, is ETERNAL.  Right here.  Right now.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

