A Year of the Tao – Day 61

“The pieces of a chariot are useless unless they work in accordance with the whole. A man’s life brings nothing unless he lives in accordance with the whole universe.”

(From A New Way of Thinking, A New Way of Being Experiencing the Tao Te Ching)

The first thing I noticed as I typed those words is that accordance contains the word ‘dance’.  Unless the parts of a chariot dance together, unless a man or woman dances with the whole universe, our efforts are useless.   Let’s not forget the first part of the word – accord: agreement. Perhaps the point is simply in agreeing to enter into the dance.

I still have dreams in which I’m back at one of the many dance recitals I was in but I can’t remember the steps, heck, don’t even know what the music or the costuming is – typical performance anxiety scenario… but maybe the key to bringing something – which is far better than nothing – with my time here on earth is just to dance (whether I think I can dance or not)!

Just move my feet.  Sway to the rhythm. Step out onto the floor.  Fill my dance card.  Curtsy.  Take the hand that is offered to me.  Be in the space that my human form moves through and just say yes to the universe which has asked me to dance.  Shall we dance?

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Sunrise/Sunset. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

