A Year of the Tao?

Wow, that was fun, wasn’t it? What? I was a few profundities short of a full Tao? Well, see, what happened was…

  • I had begun to have the vague feeling that writing my reactions to the Tao, which is deeply personal, spiritual, and unfathomable with the expectation that I might impress someone out there with my insights, contradicted the egoless messages of the Tao itself.
  • I realized that I had embraced the “discipline” (ha) of writing on a passage a day as a way of distracting myself from the necessary exercise of figuring out something to write about, and,
  • In general, although my intentions may have been admirable on some level, I had motives that, of course, *gag me* involved impressing a particular “someone out there” of the opposite sex. Yeah, there, I said it – it was for a guy. Blah.

So now what? Writers write, right? Guess I’ll just write and see what happens. If nothing else it will keep me off the streets.

I’ve recently joined the ranks of “ultimate fans” of Oprah. Better late than never. She describes one of her first “aha” moments back when she was in Baltimore in which she discovered that the best road for her to take in her career was just to be herself. On Season 25: Oprah Behind the Scenes, her staff and friends repeatedly remind Oprah to “just be yourself” as she takes the stage. So here I am trying just to be myself. We’ll see how that works out for me.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
This entry was posted in Inbetween and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Year of the Tao?

  1. Bob Trost says:

    Karen, sounds like you’ve reached another one of those “tipping point” moments on your journey. Self awareness and true motive introspection are never instantaneous and seem to creep up on you. I’ve worked hard everyday to just be myself, and find that, like so many other things in life, requires daily maintenace. Good on you for your discovery and your courage to share your superficial motives for this blog. Now we all will enjoy reading it that much more!

  2. Betsy Lewis says:

    I have enjoyed your blog and on what ever level you wrote it does not matter. It touched me, moved me and often made me giggle. I embrace you and your honesty. Your motives were sincere and did not hurt anyone. So continue to write, live and love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

