To Ride a Horse

TabascoSo.  Since the last time we visited I have taken steps toward fulfilling a preteen dream of spending a great deal of time around horses.  To that end, I have taken three (count them – 3) lessons from a self-proclaimed cowboy on a “Tennessee Walker and something” named Desert, volunteered for a therapeutic riding program, and most recently spent the day at a colleague’s mini-farm learning the very basics of natural horsemanship from two of her five magnificent geldings.

Why horses, you ask?  Well, if you have to ask, then move on because there’s nothing more for you to see here. 

Still here?  Maybe you’d like to be convinced?

My first answer:  I have no idea either.  I have been mesmerized by horses for as long as I can remember, although I successfully suppressed said obsession (might as well call a spade a spade) for decades.  Blame Mr. Ed or My Friend Flicka or Black Beauty or Bonanza.

My next answer:  Horses = beauty, grace, strength, passion, danger, power, agility, intelligence, freedom, exhilaration, surprise, acceptance, intuition, sensitivity, majesty, splendor . . .

My best answer:  recently when I considered what I would spend my time doing if all of my needs and the needs of my loved ones were met and I could do anything I wanted, the answer that bubbled up from under layers of denial and deprecation:  “I want to ride my horse.”

What horse?  Ah, there’s the rub.

So stay tuned for more updates on my adventures with horses that “belong” to someone else but because of their nature can become “mine”, if they so choose, for the moment.

About Karen Nicholson

“Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world.” ~ John Milton Writing about these moments of awe has been a driving force of my life for, well, as long as I can remember. Coupled with a devotion to sunrises and sunsets that defies explanation, a combination of the two seemed like the right thing to do. I welcome you to my world. May it be a blessing to yours.
Aside | This entry was posted in Horses and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

